Ladies and Gentlemen, the Milky Way!

Have you ever seen the Milky Way? Where were you at the time? I remember my first time was when I was 14. I had traveled with my parents on a missions trip to Honduras. There was no electricity in the little town where we stayed, and this meant no night sky “light pollution”. It was so dark I could not even see my hand in front of my face without a candle! We would go up to the roof top where we were staying, lay down on our backs, and look up at the stars. Having been raised in Fort Worth, Texas, I had never experienced the stars in this way before. Amazing and beautiful, our God really puts on a show just for us!

Like this little town I experienced years ago there are certain places even today where the Milky Way is clearly more visible to the naked eye than in others, and OH SO STUNNING! Although at night our eyes cannot see the full spectrum of colors (a product of the gasses surrounding it), cameras have no such limitations (and especially those modified ones). Bringing out these colors in unique ways has become quite an artistic expression of many photographers!

One of those photographers happens to be my husband. Natural and Wildlife was his primary focus until about a year ago when a friend introduced him to the night sky and he fell in love with it. I consider it a joy and privilege to accompany him on night sky photo shoots now and then, and have been completely blown away by what he captures and all he’s learned.

So without further ado, may I introduce you to Colorado night sky photography by Uwe Hoffmann ❤️ I hope you enjoy!

Spanish Peaks near La Veta, Colorado

“The night hides a world but reveals a universe” – Old Persian Proverb

Cottonwood Pass near Buena Vista, Colorado

Though my soul may set in darkness, it will rise in perfect light;
I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night.
– Sarah Williams

The Hornbeck Homestead, Florissant, Colorado

The Paint Mines near Calhan, Colorado

10 thoughts on “Ladies and Gentlemen, the Milky Way!

  1. Still, very tricky. I’ve shot at 1600, 3200 and 6400 at f/2 and anything more than 15 seconds starts leaving trails. Anything under 10 is pretty dim. Maybe it’s my camera, a Rebel 3Ti.

    Beautiful pix 😎👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment